Arctic States

The Arctic Council consists of the eight Arctic States.

The Arctic States have territories within the Arctic and thus carry the role as stewards of the region. Their national jurisdictions and international law govern the lands surrounding the Arctic Ocean and its waters. The northern provinces of the Arctic States offer a home to more than four million people, whose health and well-being is on the top of the Arctic Council’s agenda.


The Kingdom of Denmark




The Russian Federation


The United States

Arctic States

The eight Arctic states are permanent members of the Arctic Council.

Permanent Participants

Out of a total of 4 million inhabitants of the Arctic, approximately 500,000 belong to Indigenous Peoples. Indigenous Peoples’ organizations have been granted Permanent Participants status in the Arctic Council.

Working Groups

The Council's activities are conducted in six Working Groups.