Out of a total of 4 million inhabitants of the Arctic, approximately 500,000 belong to indigenous peoples. Indigenous peoples’ organizations have been granted Permanent Participants status in the Arctic Council. The Permanent Participants have full consultation rights in connection with the Council’s negotiations and decisions. The Permanent Participants represent a unique feature of the Arctic Council, and they make valuable contributions to its activities in all areas.

The following organizations are Permanent Participants of the Arctic Council:

Aleut International Association (AIA)

Arctic Athabaskan Council (AAC)

Gwich'in Council International (GCI)

Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) 

Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON)

Saami Council (SC)

This category is open equally to Arctic organizations of Indigenous peoples with a majority of Arctic Indigenous constituency representing:

  • a single Indigenous people resident in more than one Arctic State; or
  • more than one Arctic Indigenous people resident in a single Arctic State.

The Permanent Participants are supported by the Indigenous Peoples Secretariat.


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Read more about IPS