Arctic Council logo

The 11th Arctic Council Ministerial meeting

29 March 2019

On May 7, Finland will host the 11th Arctic Council Ministerial meeting in Rovaniemi. Minister-level representatives from the eight Arctic States will convene to review and approve work completed under the two-year Finnish Chairmanship to improve sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. The Arctic States will be joined by delegations from the Council's indigenous Permanent Participant organizations, the Chairs of the six Working Groups, and Observers. The Ministerial will be held in the Lappi Areena in Rovaniemi, Finland.

To watch the event, click here.


An overview of the media program for foreign journalists is available at the link below.  

For an overview of the Arctic Council’s history, composition and work, please read our backgrounder.

Find an overview of the Finnish Chairmanship of the Arctic Council at the link below.

The media accreditation form for media interested in covering the Arctic Council meeting is below.
Please note, the deadline to apply for accreditation is Monday, 22 April at 17:00 EDT.

Additional resources for media are also available at the link below.

For more information, visit the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland's page dedicated to the 11th Arctic Council Ministerial meeting.