Arctic Council logo

Agreement on the Arctic Economic Council

The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Canada’s Minister for the Arctic Council and Chair of the Arctic Council welcomes agreement on the Arctic Economic Council

March 26, 2014 – the Arctic Council issued the following statement:

Today in Yellowknife, Senior Arctic Officials agreed to move forward with the creation of the Arctic Economic Council (the AEC).

The aim of the AEC is to foster sustainable development, including economic growth, environmental protection and social development in the Arctic Region. It will involve strong participation from indigenous businesses.

The AEC may put forward proposals and reports to the Arctic Council to help inform its work.

The creation of the AEC is a key priority during Canada’s Arctic Council Chairmanship. Minister Aglukkaq, as Chair of the Arctic Council, will assist in arranging the first meeting of the AEC and is looking forward to seeing the products of the efforts of the AEC.